The Epic Post of Ten

In honour of today’s fabulous date (10-10-10), I offer you ten lists of ten things. You may or may not enjoy them, depending on what you expect from an Epic Post of Ten. ;)

List One: Ten YA books I love

  1. Looking for Alaska, by John Green
  2. The Truth About Forever, by Sarah Dessen
  3. Once Was Lost, by Sara Zarr
  4. The Sky Is Everywhere, by Jandy Nelson
  5. Just In Case, by Meg Rosoff
  6. Deadline, by Chris Crutcher
  7. Speak, by Laurie Halse Anderson
  8. Eyes Like Stars, by Lisa Mantchev
  9. Story of a Girl, by Sara Zarr
  10. The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins

List Two: Ten movies I can watch over & over

  1. The Shawshank Redemption
  2. Stranger Than Fiction
  3. Back to the Future
  4. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (actually, all the HP movies could be on this list)
  5. It’s a Wonderful Life
  6. The Terminal
  7. How the Grinch Stole Christmas (live action one with Jim Carrey)
  8. Because of Winn-Dixie
  9. Juno
  10. Little Miss Sunshine

List Three: Ten things I do at the beach

  1. see how far I can walk stepping only on driftwood
  2. search for seaglass
  3. sit on a log and stare at the ocean
  4. collect shells
  5. suck in as much sea air as possible
  6. build a beach fire to make s’mores with my kids
  7. swim, being somewhat careful to avoid jellyfish
  8. throw sticks in the water for my dog to retrieve
  9. build sand castles
  10. look for cool critters on the reef

List Four: Ten recipes I will share with you if you ask

  1. Cheesecake brownies
  2. Oatmeal-Cranberry Scones
  3. Sweet and Sour Turkey Meatballs
  4. Easy Dijon Salmon
  5. Sugar and Spice cookies (chewy & spicy & addictive)
  6. Cranberry Bliss Bars (like Starbucks, only better ;))
  7. Minestrone
  8. Mud Pie (chocolate mocha peanut butter yum)
  9. Singapore Chicken (nummy stir-fry with peppers & cashews)
  10. Pumpkin Scones (also copied from Starbucks)

List Five: Ten songs randomly selected from my iPod

  1. Welcome Home, Radical Face
  2. Better Days, Eddie Vedder
  3. There is a Day, Phatfish
  4. Peace, Love, and Happiness, G.Love & Special Sauce
  5. The Ocean, The Bravery
  6. Wasting my Time, Default
  7. Spark, Over the Rhine
  8. Summer Song, Joe Satriani
  9. I’d Rather be With You, Joshua Radin
  10. Goodbye, Audio Adrenaline

List Six: Ten words with the word “ten” in them (you’ve no idea how long it took me to come up with these)

  1. tenacious
  2. dishearten
  3. tension
  4. contentment
  5. tentacle
  6. tenuous
  7. centenary
  8. antenna
  9. utensils
  10. penitent

List Seven: Ten quotes I find inspiring

  1. To live a creative life, we must lose our fear of being wrong.  (Joseph Chilton Pearce)
  2. Whatever you can do or dream you can, begin it; boldness has genius, power and magic in it. (Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe)
  3. By the grace of God, I am what I am…. (The Bible – 1 Corinithians 15:10)
  4. Stay committed. Pray hard. Believe in miracles. (Jody Hedlund, on her blog)
  5. Follow your weirdness. (Annie Dillard)
  6. Courage does not always roar. Sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying, “I will try again tomorrow.” (Mary Anne Radmacher)
  7. You’re only given a little spark of madness. You mustn’t lose it! (Robin Williams)
  8. You have to write whichever book it is that wants to be written.  And then, if it’s going to be too difficult for grown-ups, you write it for children. (Madeleine L’Engle)
  9. Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle. (Plato)
  10. …I am with you always, even to the end of the age. (The Bible – Matthew 28:20)

List Eight: Ten things I won’t say to my kids (including a couple I maybe should say now and then)

  1. just wait ’til your father gets home
  2. this is gonna hurt me more than it hurts you
  3. because I said so
  4. turn down the music
  5. were you born in a barn?
  6. if all your friends jumped off a bridge, would you do that, too?
  7. why can’t you be more like *insert sibling name here*
  8. no dessert until you finish your dinner
  9. I’ll give you something to cry about
  10. no, you can’t get a piercing/tattoo/inappropriate hair color  (heh)

List Nine: Ten websites I’ve been frequenting of late (there are many more, but this is supposed to be a list of tens…)

  1. Writer Unboxed
  2. Careann’s Musings
  3. Girls in the Stacks
  4. Acoustic Guitar
  5. The Incredible Shrinking Violets
  6. kidlit.com
  7. 2010: A Book Odyssey
  8. Sara Zarr’s blog
  9. The Commonwealth Games site
  10. Sojourners

List Ten: Ten things I hope for (some big things, some little things)

  1. that my kids will always love reading
  2. that my kids will all grow into healthy, joyful, loving adults
  3. that I will be a published author someday
  4. that I will continue to love writing stories whether or not #3 happens
  5. that I will always live within walking distance of the ocean ;)
  6. that somehow, in big or small ways, I will leave this world a better place than I found it
  7. that the church will eventually be, for everyone, a place of grace, not judgment
  8. that I will always have a grateful heart
  9. that e-books will never eliminate paper-and-ink books
  10. that the Montreal Canadiens will win the Stanley Cup this year (what, you didn’t think I could get through a list of 100 things without mentioning hockey, did you?)

Happy tenth day of the tenth month of the (two thousand and) tenth year, my friends!

Peace….

10 thoughts on “The Epic Post of Ten

  1. Paul

    Great lists, Shari!!. I love walking a beach and seeing how far I can go just stepping on driftwood. Very fun and kind of meditative, too.

    1. Shari Post author

      Thanks, Paul!

      This morning the tide was super high when I got to the beach, so my log-walking and rock-jumping skills were put to the test. I managed to keep dry. :)

  2. Carol J. Garvin

    You’ve marked 10/10/2010 very creatively. I like your collection o inspiring quotations, and I especially like your thinking when it comes to things you *won’t* say to your children. (Didn’t you hear some of them from your mother when you were younger?) I have several of those yummy recipes but might just need to beg for the Sugar & Spice Cookies one. :)

    1. Shari Post author

      Haha, not sure if I heard any of those in my childhood. Maybe. And I may possibly have uttered something along the lines of “because I said so” to my own kids every now and then. Guess I should’ve called it a list of things I TRY not to say to my kids!

      Those cookies are SO good. I’ll email you the recipe. :)

    1. Shari Post author

      LOL, thanks, Elle. I think my “ten words with the word ten in them” list was a bit of a stretch, but I was definitely running out of ideas! Kinda fun to put together this post, though. Thanks for reading! :)

    1. Shari Post author

      Stacy, that song is from the Eat Pray Love soundtrack — the single is available on iTunes. :) His voice is sooo great…. I love his solo stuff (do you know his songs from the Into The Wild soundtrack?).

  3. Arti

    I’ve let 10/10/10 pass by without noticing! Your lists here are just marvellous… must have taken you hours and hours. I’ve enjoyed many of your choices, some hilarious ones, and yet they are so true (things I won’t say to my kids, e.g.) Love the movie selections (Since you’ve listed Juno, have you seen June Bug? That’s a good one too) But what stays in my mind the longest I’m sure will have to be Annie Dillard’s quote. Thanks!

    1. Shari Post author

      I love that quote — comes to mind quite often! :)

      I haven’t seen June Bug. I’ll have to check it out. Thanks for the recommendation!

Comments are closed.