Saturday Snapshot: Willow Point Reef

I visited one of my favourite places yesterday — the Willow Point Reef near my home on Vancouver Island. It’s a great place to wander: brisk sea air, great views, and lots of colourful critters to discover. :)

seastars and waves

Common Sea Stars on the far side of the reef.

Giant Pink Star - this one is approx 45cm across.

Giant Pink Star – this one is approx 45cm across.

Red Sea Cucumber sneaking its way out among a cluster of Ochre Stars (Common Sea Stars).

Red Sea Cucumber sneaking its way out among a cluster of Ochre Stars (Common Sea Stars).

Leather Star with one arm that's bifurcated...because sometimes five arms just isn't enough.

Leather Star with one arm that’s bifurcated…because sometimes five arms just aren’t enough. ;)

Great Blue Heron coming in for a landing -- such an immense wing-span!

Great Blue Heron coming in for a landing — such an immense wing-span!

Sunflower Star in a tide pool.

Sunflower Star in a tide pool.

 

And here’s me, apparently going incognito with my ball cap and dark glasses, lol!

 

Moi. (I'm the one on the left.)

Moi. (I’m the one on the left.) – Photo by Diana Stevan.

 

Peace… :)




 

20 thoughts on “Saturday Snapshot: Willow Point Reef

  1. Carol

    I love it when you visit the reef and take me along via your wonderful photos! (And, even incognito, I had no trouble discerning which one was you even though your ‘friend’ also had what could be seen as two legs, two arms and a head.) :)

    Reply
  2. Diana Stevan

    Love the shot of the Heron and the sea. You take a good picture. Thanks for taking me with you.

    Reply
  3. Anonymous

    I have to get there one of these days…I love that reef!
    Thanks for sharing and for the awesome pics!!

    Reply
  4. Arti

    What colourful sea creatures. That’s a habitat I have no knowledge about, the Pacific shore on our West Coast. I sure love to visit one of these days. Vancouver Island, fishing, whale-watching, fishing, or just birding along the shore. Glad to see your photos on Sat. Snapshot, Shari. ;)

    Reply
    1. Shari Green Post author

      I hope you get to explore the island one of these days!

      It’s been ages since I posted a “Saturday Snapshot”. I’m glad I stopped by your blog and saw yours to remind me!

      Reply
    1. Shari Green Post author

      I hope you get the chance to do that. I love the Island! (While you were talking of coming up this way, my hubby and I have been talking about a trip down your way sometime, lol. For years, I’ve wanted to explore the Oregon coast. Maybe next summer.)

      Reply
  5. Allison

    Hello from the other side of the country. :-) Although I now only visit it, my home province is Newfoundland.

    I love your photos. They’re akin to some of the sights I see here on our coast with, of course, some of your own unique attractions.

    Reply
    1. Shari Green Post author

      Hi Allison! I love Newfoundland. My hubby’s roots are in Newfoundland and we were able to go back for a visit a few summers ago. Awesome trip!

      Thanks for stopping by. :)

      Reply

Leave a comment

