Books & Birds & Tangled Balls of Emotion

facts-of-life-graphic

1. There are more wonderful books in the world than I will ever be able to read. (And yes, I realize this is a fact not only of my life, but also of the lives of every book lover in all of time and space.) Currently reading: THE STORIED LIFE OF A.J. FIKRY, by Gabrielle Zevin, and A BRIEF HISTORY OF TIME, by Stephen Hawking.

2. The “breakfast buffet” down at the Willow Creek estuary must’ve been especially good this morning: I counted 18 bald eagles, 4 turkey vultures, several murderous crows, and a large assortment of gulls (but no partridge-in-a-pear-tree). Alas, I had no camera with me, but here’s a pic from another day:

9406433390_2f33401751_o

3. When one gets especially good news and especially bad news on the same day, one’s emotions can become a tangled mess. Life is such a wonderful, terrible thing. (I am okay. My family is okay. But, life is hard sometimes, y’know?)

shareasimage

Have a great week, my friends. Peace…

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Books & Birds & Tangled Balls of Emotion

  1. So true, especially one and three. Life can be hard, both heaven and hell, depending on what’s going on. And yes, there are way too many good books to read. I’m trying to be selective and read the ones I know will satisfy. Peace to you and your family as well.

  2. The good things help to distract from the pain of the bad things. Some times they even succeed.

    I love that eagle photo… he’s so majestic! And yes, there are waaaaayyyy too many books, but it’s nice to have abundant choices.

    • Managing to feel & celebrate the good a little more today. :)

      That’s my fave of my eagle photos. Might’ve been able to get some great shots at the estuary if I’d had my camera, but it was also good to just watch them without trying to capture the moment.

  3. It must be wonderful for birdwatching in your neck of the woods. And LOL, I’m impressed by your counting and memory. Re. whatever that had happened on that one day, I wish you well… gratitude for the good news, fortitude for the bad. Take care.

Leave a comment

